Prizes & Awards

Button prize

Current winner

Dmitri Basov
Columbia University, NY, NY, USA
"for seminal discoveries in quantum material physics through infrared spectroscopy and nano-optics"

About the Award

The Kenneth J Button Prize is awarded annually at the International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves in recognition of outstanding contributions to the science of infrared, millimeter, and terahertz waves. The Prize is named after the founder of the Conference Series and is administered by the Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Society. It consists of a medal and a cash prize of $3000. At each annual meeting of the Conference, the Kenneth J Button Prize Committee meets to consider the nominations that have been submitted and elects the recipient of the Prize for the following year. The presentation is made at the following annual meeting of the Conference and the recipient is normally invited to give a plenary lecture at that meeting.
In 1990 an award called "The Infrared and Millimeter Wave Prize," to be awarded "for outstanding contributions to the field of infrared and millimeter waves," was initiated by the Program Council (now known as the International Organizing Committee) and awarded in the first instance to Kenneth J Button, founder of the conference series. The following year it was agreed by the Program Council to rename the Prize "The Kenneth J Button Prize" in recognition of Ken Button's outstanding contributions to the Infrared and Millimeter Wave Community, both as a scientist and as the initiator and driving force of this series of conferences. In September 2013, the criterion for awarding the Prize was changed to its present form: "for outstanding contributions to the science of infrared, millimeter, and terahertz waves".


Any scientist active in the field of the Conference may make a nomination for the K J Button Prize. The closing date for receipt of nominations for the following year is generally April 15, but check this web site each year to make certain. The closing date will be strictly observed. Any nominations received after that date will be carried forward to the following year.
2020 Prize nominations are due on April 15, 2019.

Previous Winners

2018 Qing Hu
2017 Federico Capasso
2016 T. Idehara
2015 P. Goy
2014 X C Zhang
2013 K Sakai
2012 G Nusinovich
2011 D Grischkowsky
2010 D B Rutledge
2009 F Keilmann
2008 A Litvak
2007 T J Parker
2006 X C Shen
2005 N C Luhmann, Jr
2004 M F Kimmitt
2003 S G Liu
2002 A Hadni
2001 K R Chu
2000 M Thumm
1999 A J Sievers
1998 K Mizuno
1997 P L Richards
1997 B Lax - Special bronze medal
1996 M I Petelin
1995 R J Temkin
1994 F K Kneubuhl
1993 J-I Nishizawa
1992 D H Martin
1991 M von Ortenberg


We look forward to welcoming you to Paris!

Contact | Committees | Society

Copyright © 2019 ellipse&co. All Rights Reserved.