Prizes & Awards

IRMMW-THz Society Exceptional Service Award

Current Winner

Professor Martin Koch
Philipps-Universitat Marburg, Marburg, Germany



About the Award

In 2010 the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to institute an annual award honoring Exceptional Service to the Society and the IRMMW-THz Community at large. This award recognizes a single individual who has contributed continuously, and over a long period of time, to the goals of the IRMMW-THz Society and to the expansion of influence and organization of our technical community.
The prize consists of a certificate, a compendium of all past IRMMW-THz conference brochures, and a waiver of the registration fee for attendance at the conference for the year in which the award is given.

Nominations for 2020 Society Exceptional Servie Award

Nominations are open to anyone from the IRMMW-THz community. Winners are selected by vote of the IRMMW-THz International Organizing Committee at the conference which precedes the award. Nominations are open two months prior to the conference, and consist of a nominee name and affiliation and short write up describing the relevant contributions that would warrant receipt of the award (no CV's or paper lists, please, this is a Community Service award).
Nominations should be sent to the IRMMW-THz General Secretary: Peter H. Siegel, phs[at]
Winners will be announced at the IRMMW-THz Conference Banquet each year.

Past Winners

2011: Professor Rick Temkin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
2012: Professor Terrence Parker, University of Colchester, UK.
2013: Professor Michael von Ortenberg of Humboldt University, Germany
2014: Dr. Peter H. Siegel of California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
2015: Professor Koji Mizuno of Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
2016: Professor Shenggang Liu of UESTC, Chengdu, China
2017: Professor Manfred Thumm of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
2018: Dr. Gian Piero Gallerano, ENEA-Frascati, Rome, Italy